Quests

It’s been one of the last missing essential feature for a while and I’ve finally started to implement it.
Conceiving a good system for easily describing quests and interacting in an efficient manner with the rest of the game is not such a trivial task. However, the event system used in pretty much everything in the game actually paid off by making this much easier than I thought.

The quest system is now on the works:

Quests are composed of a set of objectives that are completed when a set of conditions are met: they can be triggered by game events, or scripts, and will themselves be able to unlock other objectives, giving the player several choices to end the same quests.

The Pipbuck now also implements an app to check up on your quests and their current progression (though the progression checking is still a WIP).

snapshot1
The Pipbuck Quest Application

On other news, I’ve also spent some time on tackling down a lot of issues, bugs and performance limitations in the engine. While reducing the amount of code: this thing is 40k lines long. It’s hard to factorize it without reducing the simplicity or elasticity of the design, so it’s always a good thing when I find some way to do it.

Well that’s all for this time.
I still have a lot of work to do before that, but I do hope I’ll be able to put a special treat in the next post.

6 comments on “Quests

  1. RottenRonnie says:

    Looks like it’s coming along excellently.

  2. JadeCriminal says:

    Well I just came across this and am pretty awed at what you are doing.

    I don’t have nearly the willpower to do a megaproject.

    You relying on word of mouth to reach potential asistants? I seem to have missed this effort before now somehow.

    Now I have an eye for detail and technically my profession would be Graphics Editor but I’ve been working everything but such design work for the past 10 years. (you work where you can eh ;) )

    I’d volonteer to help in interface design just out of shear awesomness but a word of warning: I need a book and a few hours to make sense of C++, I haven’t coded anything in HTML in 10 years and you don’t want me putting together clunky cookie-cutter code into your game.

    Sure there are tools out there for web design that you can use but the code these… things… churn out make me want to break out in hives. *shudder*

    So if you are HORRIBLY desperate I will have a computer and a quiet place to type in 5-7 days and at leas I could take a look.

    But again. Not an actual programer.

    Also keep up the good work. :)

    • Michael says:

      It’s very hard to keep such a huge project on the works indeed. My experimental folder is full of tens of projects that I might never finish, but letting friends and family know about what you’re doing always help in that regard. I can’t leave it hanging if there are at least a few people expecting an outcome.
      The blog also helps in the same way. Turns out on the past few days and for a completely unknown reason, it received a few thousands visitors, including a few people offering help. This is very good news and it keeps the spirits up.

      We appeared on an Equestria Daily round up and I have a thread opened in ponychan. Some people also posted links on their own blogs or posts. We haven’t had a very good visibility, but it’s a bit hard when we don’t have much to show.
      Fortunately, I only have a few last things to do before closing this step of the development. And when that’s done, I should be able to communicate on a greater scale.

      Actually, if by any chance you’re running Windows, there’s a very important thing you could do.
      I’m always working on porting the game on Windows, but it would really help to have someone maintaining a build for Windows.

      And Windows or not, there’s always a few easy things that can
      If you’re looking forward to learn programming skills, I believe this project is a gold mine. I’ve worked on a lot of projects before, and it turns out that RPG development requires a lot of different skills. There’s abstraction of OSes specific features, design pattern implementations, templating, meta-programming, parsing, pathfinding, scripting, and I could go on like that for a few lines. I think it could make a great study-case.

      But no, I’m not horribly desperate for developers :) ! Though I could very much use a developer running Windows, and I would be glad to get advices on the internal mechanics. Let me know if you can do any or both of those things !

      Thanks for the encouragements !

      • JadeCriminal says:

        Always a pleasure to encourage a worthy goal.

        I know how you feel, good feedback and encouragement is the bread and butter of the freeware sector. (Or in my case freelance writer sector)

        Now that I think about it the hits you got may have come from being mentioned on Equestria Gaming website.

        Yes I am using windows. I have been using XP mostly until last week but purely for gaming purposes and I am about to crack my teeth on windows 8 once my new baby beast arrives.

        I am willing to help out somewhat but I wouldn’t be that much of a developer as I would be a freeware version of a clueless intern bumbling along.

        Still if you need someone to compile things and tell you “Oh my gosh! Everything exploded when I hit compile. It might be a wrong integer, Have a bug report.” I could do that. Tho that, to me, sounds more like a beta tester then someone poking around in the game engine as it is being built. :P

        While I do pick things up with relative ease, at the moment, without actually looking things up I think I may be able to write and compile a “hello world.exe” in C++ and my will to look new things up fluctuates daily.

        My main talent lies in creative writing to be honest, sure I can do math but I ran out of cash when we were going over derivatives and integrals in math 102 (so basic calculus is as far as I can go and I don’t go very fast without a calculator.) It has been four years and I never went back to work on my IT degree so that tells you all you need to know.

        Please let me know what tools I would need to at least have a look at things. :)

      • Michael says:

        Well, actually ensuring the cross-compilation is a hard and ungrateful task. You get to fight against divergences between compilers: and you’re on the wrong end of the port because MSVC (Microsoft’s C++ compiler) still has a lot of issues with C++11 (the version of C++ that we use). Making things compile is the greatest way to learn the specificities of a language (especially one as complex and weird as C++). Unfortunately it’s not the least boring way. The only reward feeling you get is when everything finally works.

        And well, you’re still way above me when it comes to math. I barely remember derivatives and don’t even know what an integral is. You knowing just the words already encourages me to go ask you a few questions about how we could solve some of our issues that could definitely use math skills. To start off you would need: – Visual Studio 2010 – CMake – libRocket stable – Panda3D 1.8.0+ – Angelscript 2.25+

        You’ll need to compile libRocket, Angelscript and Panda3D with Visual Studio. Doing all this from scratch usually takes me several hours. Then again you shouldn’t run in all the issues I ran into, because I wrote a little document explaining what you need to do:

        http://code.google.com/p/fallout-equestria/source/browse/documents/msvc_procedure

        These are the steps you need to follow to compile Rocket and Panda3D with MSVC. There’s nothing to change with Angelscript. Take care when renaming the Factory class in Rocket: the filename of the header is also Factory.hpp, so if you perform a “Replace all Factory -> RFactory” you’ll also screw up the include pathes. I always forgot to do it, so I never tested it, but I think the quickest way to make that change would be to replace all Factory by RFactory, and then replace all the RFactory.hpp by Factory.hpp.

        It’s pretty hard to get a working development environment running on Windows: don’t lose hope and ask me questions. I’ve been through the same crap to get my own environment. MSVC is a hateful compiler, and Visual Studio an ugly son of a bitch, but unfortunately Panda3D doesn’t compile with Mingw, so they’re mandatory tools to get Fallout Equestria RPG running on Windows.

        Cheers !

  3. NatsuBrony says:

    great job! I love to see the brony community working for what they love. Keep doing great so many people look forward to this and they should!

Leave a Reply

